SetPixel Alpha Behavior

Feb 26, 2010 at 4:10 AM

Thanks for creating this library, it has saved me a ton of work.

I am not a graphics expert so maybe this is common in teh field but I do not understand why the SetPixel method will scale the value of R, G & B with the value of Alpha. In other words, SetPixel does not seem to set the values of Alpha, R, G & B as passed on its parameters but rather it will set to the values of R, G & B as scaled by Alpha.

For example, it is not posible to set a pixel to #80FFFFFF by calling SetPixel(128, 255, 255, 255). This value is valid and would represent a White pixel with 50% transparency.

Am I misunderstading the behavior? If I understand it correctly, why is this behavior implemented instead of the direct use of Alpha, R, G & B in the parameters?

It also appears as if BlendMode.AlphaBlend relies on the sourcePixel having R, G * B that are always equal or smaller than Alpha.

Thanks for any clarification you can provide on this.

ercercerc

Coordinator
Feb 26, 2010 at 8:17 AM

Thanks for the feedback and glad it helped you.

The WriteableBitmap uses pre-multiplied alpha values (pARGB). From the MSDN:

When assigning colors to pixels in your bitmap, use pre-multiplied colors.

Nokola wrote a nice blog post where explains it well: The Most Important Silverlight WriteableBitmap Gotcha - Does It Lose/Change Colors?

Why do you think that "BlendMode.AlphaBlend relies on the sourcePixel having R, G * B that are always equal or smaller than Alpha" ?

BTW, I'm curious to know for what you use it. Do you have something online?

Feb 26, 2010 at 2:22 PM

Got it, I will read more about pre-multiplied alpha values.