adjusting brightness and contrast

Feb 19, 2015 at 3:32 PM
Looking through the source codes, I added two extension methods to enable brightness and contrast adjustments. I've also used Parallel.For from the task parallel library to speed up the process. Here's the codes. Would the team consider adding this into the official codes? Also, I noticed that the Rotate and RotateFree methods could also benefit from the use of Parallel.For, instead of the sequential for loop now but I am not good with algorithms thus can't get the destination index right. But I believe if it can be expressed as an equation based on the x, y, h and w of the source, it will benefit greatly from the parallel operations.

here's the codes for brightness:
   public static WriteableBitmap adjustBrightness(this WriteableBitmap src, int nLevel)
   {
       WriteableBitmap result = null;          
       using (var context = src.GetBitmapContext())
       {
           int nWidth = context.Width;
           int nHeight = context.Height;
           var px = context.Pixels;
           result = BitmapFactory.New(nWidth, nHeight);

using (var dest = result.GetBitmapContext())
            {
                var rp = dest.Pixels;
                Parallel.For(0, context.Length, i =>
                {
                    // Extract
                    var c = px[i];  
                    var a = (c >> 24) & 0x000000FF;
                    var r = (c >> 16) & 0x000000FF;
                    r += nLevel;
                    r = TruncateColour(r);
                    var g = (c >> 8) & 0x000000FF;
                    g += nLevel;
                    g = TruncateColour(g);
                    var b = (c) & 0x000000FF;
                    b += nLevel;
                    b = TruncateColour(b);
                    rp[i] = (a << 24) | (r << 16) | (g << 8) | b;
                });
            }
        }

return result;
  }
and the codes for adjusting contrast: